Shripad Naik set to be president again




Union Minister of State for AYUSH Shripad Naik and Paresh Kamat are set to be president and treasurer of the Goa Olympic Association (GOA) respectively as theirs was the only nominations received for the above posts by Returning Officer Gaurang Panandikar.

Eighteen candidates have filed their nominations for thirteen posts to the GOA elections to be held on September 22. September 8 is the last date for withdrawal of candidatures.

After the scrutiny of nominations on Thursday, six new faces have thrown their hats in the ring.

Five candidates will by vying for the four posts of vice president. Former Goa Volleyball Association (GVA) president Irwin Soares, Rajendra Mangeshkar, Lenny d’Gama, Girish Chodankar and Sandeep Heble are contesting for the post of vice president to be decided by an electorate of 54.

Twenty six State Associations have two votes each while Kho Kho and Kabaddi have one vote.

Present General Secretary Gurudutta Bhakta is standing for re-election against Sandeep Heble who is part of the Goa Badminton Association, Goa Basketball Association and acts as tournament director for table tennis tournaments conducted in Goa. Sandeep is the only candidate trying his luck in two posts, the other being for the post of vice president.

Chetan Kavlekar and Anagha Warlikar will be contesting for the single post of joint secretary. Anagha is a new contestant.

Six candidates are standing for elections to the five posts of Executive Council – GFA secretary Welvin Menezes , Jayesh Naik , Rupesh Mahatme, Sidhartha Satardekar, Farrel Furtado and Sidheswar Naik . Welvin, Rupesh and Sidharth are the new faces facing the GOA ballot.

Gaurish Dhond and GVA president Narahar Thakur, who were previously vice presidents of GOA, will not be contesting along with treasurer Anil Madgavkar.

Members standing for GOA elections need to be authorised by their respective associations.

“Welvin called me over the phone and asked me if I had a problem if he stood for GOA elections. I told him, I had no problem. No decision was taken authorising him during the Executive Committee meeting,” stated GFA Executive committee member Arnaldo

“Irwin Soares has not been authorised by GVA to stand for any election on our behalf. We are in the final stages of taking SAG to court and are looking at the legal options of barring him from contesting the GOA elections as representative of GVA,” stated GVA secretary Santosh Bandodkar.

Farrel Furtado and Anagha Warlikar are the two women contesting.