Breaking News

Sharpshooters are Ponda taluka champs



Sharpshooters Khandola emerged winners at the 14th Ponda taluka football tournament organised by United Sports Club, Mardol. They clinched the title by beating Gopalkrisha Sports Club, Marcela 6-5 via tie-breaker in the final at Mardol ground on Thursday. The team played 1-1 draw during the regulation time.

As the teams were involved in a deadlock the tie-breaker system had to be adopted to decide the winners wherein Sharpshooters Khandola proved to be bitter shooters, finding the mark through Ajay, Sarin, Saish, Swapnil Khandolkar and Mahesh.

For Gopalkrishna Marcela only Bhavesh Kerkar, Prabhakar, Avinash and Nikhil could be on target.

Individual cash awards handed out after the final:

Best player of the tournament – Swapnil Khandolkar of Sharpshooter, first scorer of the final- Bhavesh Kerkar of Gopalkrishna and best disciplined team – Dapolim FC, Shiroda.

Check Also

Sawant refuses to react to Governor’s objection

NT NETWORK Panaji Chief Minister Pramod Sawant refused to react to the objection raised by …