Breaking News

Our Lady of Rosary are Salcete U-14 champs




Our Lady of Rosary High School, Fatorda stunned Loyola High School, Margao 5-2 via tie breaker to lift the Subroto Mukherjee Cup U-14 (South Zone) football title in the final played at Nehru stadium, Fatorda on Friday.The two teams shared four gaols during the normal period of play.

In the first half, it was Loyola High School which dominated the field and had chances to wrap up the match in this session itself but the strikers were unlucky in converting convert some easy chances.

After fumbling to score in the first quarter, Loyola High School took the lead in the 24th minute when Flyn P Crasto bulged the nets with an angular effort, on receiving a neat pass from the left flank from their captain Rui Noronha. Our Lady of Rosary keeper Rohan Gomes could not stop the ball, though he did try to get his hand to it.

Loyola had another chance but the powerful shot taken by Flyn hit the post and was cleared by Rosary defender
Rivo Borges.

Our Lady of Rosary retaliated with some counter forays and levelled the score two minutes before the lemon break through attacking medio Yash Pawar whose rocket like effort off a free kick crashed to the far corner of the Loyola net.

The second session saw both the teams on even keel. The midfield of both the teams improved by a few notches as they saw the ball being spread across the flanks to try and find the mark.

While the Loyola midfield functioned neatly under the leadership of Rui ,who played as an attacking midfielder with Flyn Crasto, Ashwell Gonsalves and Loyel Vaz, chipped in to create some gaps in the rival defence.However, the Rosary defense played a tight game.

Rosary midfield too consisting of Yash Pawar and company also made it a point to send some slicing passes and succeeded in going a goal up in the second session through Michael Dias whose shot crashed into the far end of Loyola nets in the 45th minute. Loyola retaliated and levelled the score through Shawn Carvalho from a pass by Mark Rodrigues, two minutes before the final hooter.

As the teams were involved in a dead-lock, the tie breaker was adopted, in which Our Lady of Rosary HS proved
to be the better shooters, scoring accurately through Yash Pawar, Prasad Shinde and GS Bhandari.

None of the Loyola boys could score during the tiebreaker.

Our Lady of Rosary High School, Fatorda have now qualified to participate in the District Level of this tournament.

Check Also

Zidane wants Messi to stay in La Liga amid exit rumours

IANS Madrid Putting his rivalry aside with Barcelona, Real Madrid manager Zinedine Zidane has said …