Breaking News


Bidesh XI Bardez Zone Champs

DULER: Bidesh XI emerged champions of the Goa Football Association Third Division League Bardez Zone defeating Goan Warriors FC 5-1 at Duler Stadium, Mapusa, on Thursday. Chandan Narilkar scored a brace while Vishal Salgaocar, Gaurish Bugde and Chandan Govenkar netted a goal each with all the goals coming in the second half of the play. Earlier, Creig Menezes gave Goan Warriors a first half lead.


St Rock YC down SC Davorlim

AMBELIM: St Rock Youth Club, Majorda registered a 2-0 win over Sporting Club of Davorlim in the GFA’s Salcete Zone Third Division League playoffs match, at Ambelim ground, on Thursday. Selvino Sequeira (47’) and Samson Braganza (89’) scored one goal each in the second session as the first session remained goalless.


PY Nuvem prevail over Ambelim SC

VARCA: Parish Youth, Nuvem entered the quarterfinals of Roosevelt Alemao Memorial Football Tournament defeating Ambelim SC 4-3 via tie-breaker, at Varca SC grounds on Thursday. The teams played a goalless draw during the regulation time. In the tie-breaker, PY Nuvem scored through Richard Colaco, Cedar Colaco, Flaston Quadros and Stephen Colaco. Ambelim SC could find the mark only through Perryson Fernandes, Leslie Fernandes and Samson Fernandes.


Little Gaurs League launched

PANAJI: Forca Goa Foundation launched its inaugural Little Gaurs League earlier this week at Kings School in South Goa. The league was officially kicked off by Arjuna Awardee Brahmanand Sankhwalkar in the presence of Melwin Pereira, chairman, Kings School and Derrick Pereira, technical director, FC Goa. The Little Gaurs League will run from November to March with matches being played every Saturday.


GTBCA’s U-19 tennis ball cricket from Dec 6

PANAJI: Goa Tennis Ball Cricket Association (GTBCA) will conduct 14th Goa State Junior (U-19) Tennis Ball Cricket Championship (boys and girls) from December 6 to 8 at Panaji and Ponda. The championship is open to high schools and higher secondary schools across the state. Players born on or after January 1, 2000 (for junior) are eligible to take part in the championships. Goa team probables for Junior National Championship will be selected based on the performance in the championship, state the GTBCA press release. Last date of submitting entries is December 4.


Goa United, Goan FC secure easy wins

CALANGUTE: Goa United Sports Academy and Goan Football Club recorded easy wins in their respective matches of the GFA’s U-14 League, on Thursday. While Goa United eased past El Shaddai SC 3-1 at Poriat ground, Calangute, Goan FC made light work of Kelbai SC as they thrashed them 7-0 at Tivim ground.


Croizant get better of Lazy Sticks

PEDDEM: Croizant Bastora crushed Lazy Sticks, Mapuca 4-0 in the Goans Hockey Championship game played on Thursday. Sarfaraz, Brandon, Abbbusaliya and Suyesh were the goal scorers for the winners. Earlier, Carvalho Bros beat Corjuem XI 2-1. Dino and Dattesh were the scorers for the winners while Aman Patekar scored the lone goal for the losing side. Meanwhile, Guddi SC beat Navelim Hockey Club 4-2 in a South Goa league match played at Seraulim. Vallabh netted a hat-trick and Yogesh chipped in with a goal. Saish and Suraj were the goal scorers for Navelim HC.


Deepraj to lead Goa U-23 against Vidarbha

PORVORIM: Deepraj Gaonkar will lead Goa U-23 men’s cricket team for Col CK Nayudu Trophy match against Vidarbha to be played at Sanguem ground from November 30 to December 4. SQUAD: Deepraj Gaonkar (C), Ishaan Gadekar, Shubham Dessai, Vaibhav Govekar, Achit Shigwan, Tunish Sawkar, Aditya Suryawanshi, Sachin Bukkam, Dhiraj Yadav, Nihal Surlaker, Heramb Parab, Vedant Naik, Ajaykumar Kewat, Savio Kaalko, Mukul Kasana and Ryan Fernandes.


Goa U-16 cricket team for Tamil Nadu tie

PORVORIM: Manish Kakode will lead Goa U-16 cricket team for the Tamil Nadu tie to be played at MCC ground, Margao from November 30 to December 2. Squad: Manish Kakode (C), Akash Madhumai, Kaushal Hattangadi, Deep Kaswankar, Rahul Vantamuri, Pradnyesh Gaonkar, Sujay Naik, Sayeed Junnaid Ahmed (WK), Namesh Kankonkar, Lakmesh Pawane, Veer Yadav, Manishkumar Nishad, Shoib Shaikh, Suryesh Pagi, Shardul Shet, Zaid Mohammed and Sanath Nevgi.


DSYA’s swimming, diving trials  at Campal today

PANAJI: The Department of Sports and Youth Affairs (DSYA) will be conducting trials to select the state swimming (U-19) and diving (U-14, U-17 and U-19) teams, boys and girls, that will participate in the 64th National School Games. The selection will be held at Campal Swimming Pool Complex on November 30. Meanwhile, the DSYA will also hold athletics trials for U-17 boys and Girls on December 1, at Sports Complex Peddem, Mapusa. Players should be in proper playing kit and carry I-Card, and report to Sunil Gawas and Anant Sawal at the venues at 9 am.


Check Also

Masood holds fort for Pak

IANS Manchester Shan Masood on Thursday showed composure of highest order but batters around him …