Saturday , 14 December 2019
Breaking News


Anura wins doubles silver

PANAJI: Goa’s young shuttler Anura Prabhu Desai won a doubles silver at 13th Union Bank All India Junior Ranking badminton tournament 2014 held in Bangalore. Anura partnered Riya Mookerjee from West Bengal in the girls under-17 category, where the second seeds reached the finals. The pair had to settle for a silver as they lost the title clash against top-seeded pair of Kuhoo Garg and V Harika 21-15, 21-8.

St Savio’s thump Holiday SC
MAPUSA: St Savio’s Sports Club, Calangute registered a 4-0 win over Holiday Sports Club, Arpora in the GFA’s 3rd Division League match played at Candolim grounds on Sunday. All the goals were scored in the first session of play by the Calangute colts. Lester Lobo opened the account with a superb placement. As the match progressed, St Savio’s dominated and doubled their lead through Agnelo Fernandes. Joaquim Gonsalves took the match beyond Arpora’s reach as he netted a brace.

World junior chess: Anurag, Ivana win
PANAJI: Dempo Goodwill Brand Ambassador IM Anurag Mhamal (5 points) displayed tactical acumen while defeating GM Van Kampen Robin (rating 2641) of Netherlands in a Sicilian defence encounter at World Junior Chess Championship in Pune. WIM Ivana Furtado (5 points) again resorted to her tested Catalan opening and manouvered well in the endgame to win her duel with compatriot Monisha GK (rating 2069). Ritviz Parab (4 points) was engaged in an interesting encounter of the Sicilian dragon variation with IM Toms Kantans (rating 2485) of Latvia which ended in a draw on the 45th move. GM Cori Jorge of Peru with 6 points leads the open category while IM SL Narayanan leads among Indian players while top seed WGM Gorychkina Aleksandra of Russia and WGM Padmini Raut of India along with three others lead the girls category with 5.5 points.

Mascarenhas elected Salcete FC president
PANAJI: Agnelo Mascarenhas has been elected as the president of Salcete Football Club at its annual general body meeting in Margao. The following have been elected to the managing committee of the club for the 2014-17 term: President – Agnelo Mascarenhas; vice-presidents – Schubert Furtado, Joe Dias, Mauricio Afonso, Justo Costa; honorary general secretary – Agnelo L Fernandes; assistant secretary – Anthony Pango; honorary treasurer – Sunil Naik; assistant treasurer – Bruno Furtado.

Check Also

Indian eves go down to Sweden

Mumbai: The India U-17 women’s team began the three-nation football tournament on a disastrous note, …