Breaking News


Adarsh outdo Calangute to enter semis

CHAPORA: Adarsh YS, Saligao surprised favourites Calangute Association SC 6-5 via tie-breaker to enter the semifinals of the W Hotels Soccer Cup 2018, played at Chapora grounds, on Monday. The teams were locked in a 1-1 draw during the regulation time. Calangute took the lead in the 30th minute with Deep Govekar scoring with a neat placement, 1-0. Crossing over, Adarsh YS came back strongly and netted the equaliser with Govind being the scorer. In the penalty shootout, Adarsh YS scored through Nukhil, Trevor, Govind, Amar and Ganesh while for Calangute Association only Melton, Sidharth, Runal and Deep could be on target.


Shikha Pandey to be honoured with Dilip Sardesai award

PANAJI: Goa’s woman international cricketer Shikha Pandey has been selected for the Late Dilip Sardesai Excellence Award for the year 2017-2018 after her stupendous performance at the international stage during the year 2017-18. Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar will present the award to her during a ceremony to be held at the Seminar Hall, Directorate of Art & Culture, Patto, Panaji on Wednesday, August 29 at 4.30 pm. Sports Minister Babu Azgaonkar, Nandini Sardesai, Rajdeep Sardesai and others will be present on the occasion.


Goa’s Anupa selected as BCCI match referee

PORVORIM: Former Goa cricketer Anupa Vinayak Narvenkar became the first Goan women to have passed the Match Referee examination and selected as BCCI Match Referee for the year 2018, states the press release issued by Goa Cricket Association (GCA) on Monday. Anupa, who is GCA’s selector for women’s cricket team, represented Goa in the sub junior nationals and senior women’s team from 1997 to 2003. She was also selected to represent West Zone team and played in the Senior Inter Zonal Championship for Rani Jhansi Trophy, adds the press release.


Sathvik Kerkar wins chess tourney

PONDA: Sathvik Kerkar won the Curti-Pisgal village level chess tournament, organised by Ajinkya Sports & Cultural Club in association with Ponda Taluka Chess Association (PTCA).  Vrajesh Natekar, Sarvesh Kurtikar, Anand Kurtiker, Harsh Kurtikar, Saish Natekar, Sourabh  Kerkar, Rudraksh Shilkar, Manohar Gaude and Omkar Shilkar secured 2nd to 10th place respectively.

Check Also

Boumous double sends Gaurs two points clear at top

Margao: Moroccan forward Hugo Boumous inspired FC Goa to a thrilling 3-2 win over Kerala …