Breaking News
Dicarpale SC players receive the winners trophy from the chief guest Luizinho Faleiro in the presence GFA president Churchill Alemao and others at Rosary ground, Navelim on Wednesday.

Dicarpale edge SJD Areal; lift title

Navelim: A 46th minute strike in the second half by attacking medio Mack Borges enabled Dicarpale SC emerge champions of Navelim Villagers’ Union Trophy football tournament as they defeated Sao Jose de Areal by a solitary goal in the finals played at Rosary grounds, Navelim on Wednesday.

The all important goal which proved to be the match winner came off following a defense splitting pass from the middle and Mack Borges who made a dash for the ball unleashed a powerful shot to beat the rival keeper Joseph Monteiro, giving him no chance to stop the ball.

The teams started well, impressing in the midfield with brilliant passes while the defence remained ever alert.

Initially, the teams displayed a cautious approach to the game, keeping the ball low and and looking out for probing moves to gauze each other’s strength.

As the match progressed, the teams increased the pace of the match and there were accelerating moves from one end to the other.

Dicarpale’s Joemack Colaso, Micky Furtado, Jaison Vales and Mack Borges looked out for gaps in the rival defence and after exploring the weakness and strengths of the rival team, they began to send long passes, using both the flanks to split the defence which appeared to be playing in


Dicarpale SC made two dangerous forays early in the first session and both the counts Sao Jose de Areal keeper Joseph Monteiro came out in flying colours bringing spectacular saves off Robinson Colaso and Perryson Rebello.

Sao Jose de Areal also had their say in the proceedings with Aggio Antao and Frederick Endro being the most impressive of the lot in the team.

Areal’s Monty Valadares too had a good game along with Larryl Mascarenhas and the duo created some dents in the rival’s defensive line by their pace and positional play. However, the Dicarpale back four managed to stand firm in both the sessions to prevent their citadel from crumbling under pressure.

Sao Jose de Areal made several goal bound moves in the last fifteen minutes to try and level the score but the Dicarpale SC defence stood firm and never allowed the rival strikers to have a clear look at their goal.

Chief Guest Luizinho Faleiro, MLA Navelim constituency, guest of honour Churchill Alemao, MLA, Benaulim constituency and Fr Arlino de Melo, Parish priest of Our Lady of Rosary church, Navelim who presided over the function distributed the prizes in the presence of a host of other dignitaries.

Besides the winners trophy they also received an amount of Rs 40,000 while the runners-up received an amount of Rs 30,000 and a trophy. The final was witnessed by a large number of spectators.

The following won the individual prizes:-

Best defender of the tournament: Joseph Gomes (Navelim Villagers Union), Best defender of the finals: Micky Furtado (Dicarpale SC), Best striker of the final: Joston Fernandes (Sao Jose de Areal), Best midfielder of the final: Larryl Mascarenhas (Sao Jose de Areal), First goal of the final: Mack Borges(Dicarpale SC), Best goalkeeper of the finals: Avin Vales (Dicarpale SC), Man of the match in the final: Joel Colaso (Dicarpale SC), Best disciplined team: Margao SC and Best goalkeeper of the Tournament: Liston Colaso (Our Lady of Snows Raia).

Check Also

England struggle to 106/5 at lunch

REUTERS Southampton West Indies dominated the second morning of the first Test against England on …