Breaking News

Davorlim cling on to win nail-biter



Agnelo Colaso and Mabel Miranda’s perfect shots enabled Sporting Club of Davorlim to register a hard fought 2-1 win against CDJ Ribandar and enter the finals of 42nd Cana-Benaulim football tournament played at St John the Baptist grounds, Benaulim on Tuesday. The teams were level 1-1 at the breather.

It was Sporting Club of Davorlim that shot into lead in the 20th minute of play when striker  Agnelo Colaso raced into the box and upon receiving a neat pass from Velington Rocha sent an angular effort to beat CDJ Ribandar keeper Yayant Kadam.

CDJ Ribandar made a quick move and in the very next minute of play levelled the score through Krishnanath Shirodkar whose shot gave no chance at all to Davorlim keeper Sachin Astekar. It was a brilliant pass that was dispatched to Krishnanath by striker Newton Azavedo that culminated into a goal.

The match then wore on with some pacy moves as the ball rolled on from one end to the other with the defenders on either side, having a busy time to quell each others moves.

CDJ defenders Vikram Balekar and Pravin Bandodkar who played a good game in the first session, could not sustain the pressure exerted by Davorlim in the second session as Davorlim took advantage of their rival’s brittle defence.

It was during such a spell that Sporting Club of Davorlim scored the match winner in the 59th minute through a good shot taken by Mabel Miranda off a pass from Joel Colaso.

As time ticked on, CDJ Ribandar stitched some good moves to try and level the score. Their strikers – Newton Azavedo and Salu Santosh worked in tandem and directed some shots at the rival goal, which saw Davorlim keeper Saschin Astekar proving to be a good pair of hands.

Sporting Club of Davorlim now await the winners of St Anthony’s SC, Marna-Siolim and St Anthony’s SC, Colva who clash today. The final are scheduled to be held on August 12.

Check Also

Boumous double sends Gaurs two points clear at top

Margao: Moroccan forward Hugo Boumous inspired FC Goa to a thrilling 3-2 win over Kerala …