Breaking News
The winners of V M Salgaocar Memorial Elocution Competition 2015 seen with chief guest Dr Pratima Kamat, Ranjana Salgaocar, Vivek Salgaocar, and two of the judges Dr Farida Dias and Manisha Dhawalikar

Chicalim Regina Mundi HS student wins Salgaocar elocution contest


PANAJI: The final round of the V M Salgaocar Memorial Elocution Competition 2015 was held at V M Salgaocar College of Law, Miramar, recently.  It was preceded by the North Goa and South Goa zonal rounds.  There were 10 participants, 5 each from North and South zones.

Sherwyn Correia  from Regina Mundi High School, Chicalim, won the first place, followed by Krysla Menezes  from St  Mary’s Convent High School, Mapusa (second place) and Nidhi Kamat from A J De Almeida High School, Ponda (third place). Disha Mandrekar from Mahalaxmi High School, Kudnem was given a special prize for schools participating from the mining belt.

Dr Pratima Kamat, head of the Department of History of the Goa University, was the chief guest.  She lauded the efforts of all 10 finalists who put up a good performance, displaying “depth of knowledge, clarity of thought, and above all a strong competitive spirit”. She said that activities like elocutions are no more considered as extra-curricular but co-curricular activities, and complimented the Salgaocar group for the initiative.

Dr Kamat and Ranjana Salgaocar distributed the trophies to the winners. The eminent judges were Dr Farida Dias (speech trainer), Pramod Acharya (news editor of Prudent Media) and Manisha Dhawalikar (lecturer at S S Samiti’s Higher Secondary). It was the third edition of the annual competition organised by V M Salgaocar & Bro Pvt Ltd since 2013.

Check Also

Dy Collector orders opening of shops selling essential commodities

NT NETWORK Vasco Deputy Collector and Sub-Divisional Magistrate, Mormugao, Sachin Dessai, on Monday, ordered opening …