Breaking News

Betalbatim Sports Club are champs

Nuvem: A twenty fifth minute strike by attacking medio Dylan Rodrigues enabled Betalbatim Sports Club to register a solitary goal win against Sporting Club of Davorlim and lift the first Nuvem Parish Youth Cup in the final played on Sunday at church grounds, Nuvem.

The all important goal in favour of Betalbatim Sports, which proved to be the match winner came off following a forward pass from the right flank to Dylan Rodrigues who took into his stride two rival defenders before sending an angular effort to beat Sporting Club of Davorlim keeper Rosefern Miranda.

The match was then evenly played with both teams going all out for the kill.

Sporting Club of Davorlim fought valiantly to try and find the mark and level the score but their efforts were nullified due to stout defending by Betalbatim Sports Club’s defender Manushawn Fernandes.

Sporting Club of Davorlim’s striker Robinson Colaso who was heavily marked tried four shots at the Betalbatim goal, twice in the first session and equal number of times in the second session, but the Betalbatim SC keeper Milton de Souza proved to be a hard nut to crack.

Just a minute before the break, Robinson sent a fierce shot which Milton punched away to keep his goal safe.

The second session saw Robinson Colaso in the thick of action and even as Betalbatim defence kept a hawk’s eye on him, Robisnon somehow managed to get inside the rival box.

Just ten minutes before the final hooter, Robinson’s shot narrowly missed the mark and in the final minute, Betalbatim keeper Milton brought off a great save.

The following won the individual prizes: Best defender of the finals – Manushawn Fernandes (Betalbatim Sports Club); Best striker of the finals – Robinson Colaso (Sporting Club of Davorlim); First scorer of the finals – Dylan Rodrigues (Betalbatim SC); Best goalkeeper of the finals – Milton de Souza (Betalbatim SC); BOSCH player of the tournament – Klusner Pereira (Betalabtim SC); Best Disciplined team of the tournament – Don Bosco Oratory,Fatorda. Losing semifinalists: Fr Agnel Youth SC, Paroda and Cuncolim Union who received a cash amount of Rs 5000 each.

Betalbatim SC ,the winners of this tournament besides taking away the winners trophy also won a cash amount of Rs 45,000 while the runners up – Sporting Club of Davorlim had to be satisfied with the runners up trophy and cash amount of Rs 35000.

Chief guest Michael Lobo, minister for RDA, Waste management, ports and science and technology gave away the prizes in the presence of local MLA Wilfred D’Sa (Babashan). Fr Luis Pinto, the founder of Parish Youth, Nuvem who was the guest of honour among several other dignitaries.

Check Also

Gagan Narang stresses on mental fitness during lockdown

PTI New Delhi Having achieved success in a sport which, in his words, is 98 …