Breaking News
The finalists with chief guest Vinay Tendulkar and others.

Bengaluru City chess champs


PANAJI : Top seed Bengaluru City won the 16th National Cities Team Chess Championship 2015, organised by Goa Chess Association and Canacona Sports Academy in association with Sports Authority of Goa on behalf of All India Chess Federation, which concluded at Nehru Stadium, Fatorda on Thursday.Bengaluru City emerged winners after collecting 14 points and have thus qualified to participate in the Asian City Team Chess Championship which will be held in Sri Lanka. Calicut City took second place with 10 points while Goan teams Ponda City and Madgaon City claimed third and fourth places after they finished with 10 and 9 points respectively. Fifth place was won by  Ludhiana City with 9 points.

Among the individual prizes, Bengaluru City players IM Thejkumar MS, IM Himanshue Sharma, IM Stany GA and IM Sanjay N won the 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th places respectively while the fifth place was won by Karmalkar Deeptesh of Margao City. Nadini Saripalli won the Best Woman Player of the tournament.

Vinay Tendulkar, president Goa Chess Association was the chief guest and gave away the prizes in the presence of Kishor Bandekar, Ashesh Keni, Sagar Sakordekar, Gurudas Vernekar and others.

In all 20 City teams from all over India participated in the tournament.

Check Also

Neville slams UEFA after CAS overturns City’s European ban

IANS Manchester Former Manchester United defender Gary Neville has slammed European football governing body UEFA …