Breaking News

Adieus IFFI, till we meet again

The 48th International Film Festival of India concluded on a high note with a grand celebration held at Dr Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Indoor Stadium on Tuesday. The evening was a good blend of glamour and entertainment with many well-known personalities being part of the closing ceremony. NT BUZZ reports


This year IFFI saw the presence of many noted celebrities and distinguished guests who were a part of the celebration which marked the end to the eight-day festival held in Goa. French director, Robin Campillo’s drama film ‘120 Beats Per Minute’ won the coveted Golden Peacock Award. The film set in France in the 1990’s deals about homosexuality and the AIDS epidemic. The film, starring Nahuel Perez Biscayart, Arnaud Valois and Adele Haenel, had its world premiere at the 2017 Cannes Film Festival. The winner of the Golden Peacock Award won a trophy, a citation and a cash prize of ` 40 Lakhs that is to be shared equally between the producer and the director.

IFFI’s theme this year was ‘Connecting the world through stories’. Actors, love stories, and cinema is the canvas through which stories and emotions are communicated to the people. When they communicate effectively through their craft they form a relation with the audience.

The Best Director Award for 2017 was won by Chinese director Vivian Qu for her film ‘Angels Wear White’. The film is about the travails of two teenage girls who are assaulted by a middle aged man in a seaside town in China. Vivian’s hard hitting social drama provides a social context for violence against women.

Nahuel Perez Biscaryat of the French film ‘120 BPM’ was the recipient of The Best Actor (Male) award for his portrayal of the AIDS activist Sean Dalmazo, an effective member of ACT UP to represent all the horror of the epidemic in the film. Nahuel could not be a part of the ceremony due to a busy schedule but his message was screened at the venue, which said:  “I am very honoured. Thank you for this award. I encourage everyone to fight for their rights as when we are together, we are the strongest force on this universe. Try to change the reality, that’s the only way we can live. If we live in the shadow nothing can come out from within you.”

While Parvathy T K bagged The Best Actor (Female) award for her portrayal of a nurse who wages a battle for the release of her husband held hostage by the rebel army in the war-torn Iraq in Mahesh Narayan’s Malayalam film ‘Take Off’. Parvathy, who hails from Kozhikode, Kerala mostly stars in South Indian films, has won many awards and accolades including the Kerala State Film Award and Filmfare Award. The recipients of the Best Actor Male and Female were given the Silver Peacock trophy and a cash prize of  `10 lakhs each.

The Special Jury Award was given to Mahesh Narayan for his directorial debut ‘Take Off’ which focuses on the dramatic rescue of Indians trapped in Tikrit. The award carried a cash prize of  `15 Lakhs, a Silver Peacock trophy and the citation.

Bolivian director Kiro Russo walked away with the Silver Peacock for the Best Feature Film titled ‘Dark Skull’ that offers a dark yet beautiful subterranean study in atmosphere and mourning.

Of the many awards that were given at the function, Marathi film director, Manouj Kadaamh was cheerful as his film ‘Kshitij: A horizon’ won the ICFT-UNESCO Gandhi Medal. The medal reflects UNESCO’s fundamental mandate of building peace in the mind of men and women, particularly human rights, intercultural dialogue, promotion and safeguard of diversity of cultural expressions.


Continued on page 3


Check Also

Global films, global messages

NT BUZZ Three directors/producers of highly acclaimed movies around the globe, namely, Marisia Nikitiuk (‘When …