MTCA’s chess tourney from Feb 8

PANAJI: Mourmugao Taluka Chess Association will be organising their second edition of the Late Shanbagh & Sumathi Memorial All Goa Rolling trophy Rapid Chess tournament on February 8 and 9 at Chowgule’s centenary hall, near Bramahsthal temple, Baina Vasco. Interested players may send their entries to Swapnil Hoble (9881776689) or Mukund Kambli (9921896940) on or before February 7.

Aakash Shetgaokar wins Pernem rapid blitz chess

PERNEM: Aakash Shetgaokar won the first Pernem taluka Rapid Blitz chess tournament held at Dhargal panchayat hall. Ayush Naik came second while Prithvij Gawde clinched third position.


Goa Professional League: Calangute Association V Dempo Sports Club, Duler Stadium, Mapusa, 3.45 pm; Sesa Football Academy V Vasco Sports Club, Sirsaim ground, 3.45 pm

GFA Second Division League (Salcete Zone): Sports & Welfare Club, Zaino V St Anthony Sports Club, Assolda, Sarzora ground, 4.00 pm; United Club Of Telaulim V Varca Sports Club, Astro Turf, Fatorda, 4.00 pm