Tanavade says BJP will form govt on its own in state


Vasco: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) state unit general secretary Sadanand Shet Tanavade has said that active participation of party workers will help in strengthening the party from grassroots level, enabling to form government on its own in the next assembly election.

Tanavade was speaking to the party workers during the election cum announcement of Dabolim BJP Mandal which was constituted through election as per party norms and guidelines on Sunday.

The function was attended by Transport Minister Mauvin Godinho, Commissioner for NRI Affairs Narendra Sawaikar, returning officer for Dabolim constituency Sanjay Satardekar, outgoing Dabolim BJP president Sada Shet, BJP South Goa secretary Santosh Kerkar, Chicalim sarpanch Sebastiao Pereira, deputy sarpanch Kamla Prasad Yadav, panch members Marie Mascarenhas and Shivaji Kurade, Chicolna Bogmalo deputy sarpanch Arun Naik, panch members Laxman Kavlekar and Sankalp Mahale, Dabolim BJP Mahila Morcha president Anita Thorat and others.

On the occasion newly-constituted committee of Dabolim BJP mandal was announced wherein Sandeep Sood was elected unopposed as president for the next three years.

Tanavade informed that BJP has constituted the mandal committees in two constituencies of South Goa district, while mandal formation in North Goa has been largely completed. “The party will sweep the assembly election with support from grassroots workers,” said Tanavade. He disclosed that BJP has constituted mandal committees after the process of electing the booth-level committees in a democratic manner.

Transport Minister Godinho stressed that BJP is not a communal party. “Majority of the legislators in BJP are from minority community. Out of the total 40 legislators, 25 belong to the minority community,” he said.

He said that some opposition legislators in the state were trying to seek help of Shiv Sena party to form government in Goa by forming an alliance. “This dream of the opposition of forming an alliance government will never come true in the state as the government formed in Maharashtra is by compromising principles and, hence, would collapse on its own in couple of months,” Godinho said.

The Commissioner for NRI Affairs Sawaikar informed that the grassroots-level workers are the base of the party. “The induction of new faces including youth would help in strengthening the party,” he said.

The newly-elected Dabolim BJP mandal committee members include Sandeep Sood as president, Tulsidas Patekar and Ligorio Monteiro as vice presidents, Ajay Thorat and Kamla Prasad Yadav as general secretary, Deepali Chipkar, Aparna Arolkar and Marida Mesta are secretaries, Brahma Pawar, Caitan Xavier, Laxman Kavlekar, Gaurish Mardolkar, Krishna Bandi, Sachin Chowgule, Shaileja Asolkar, Kalpana Rane, Hardik Jain, Kanchan Redkar, Hannah Ansari, Sneha Dessai, Sushma Naik, Mandakini Amonkar, Ramrai Naik, Mahesh Korgaonkar, Javed Sayyed, Ratnakar Parsekar, Raymond Carvalho, Umesh Naik, Shahabuddin Mujawar, Ranganath Gawde as members. The function was compered by Anita Thorat.