No-trust motion against MMC deputy chairperson




Thirteen councillors of Mormugao municipal council have moved a no confidence motion against deputy chairperson of MMC Shashikant Parab on Thursday.

The letter containing signatures of thirteen councillors who moved the no confidence motion against Parab has been given to the office of the director of municipal administration.

In the 25-member council, the ruling group headed by incumbent chairperson Kritesh Gaonkar had the support of 13 councillors, while the opposition group led by former chairperson Deepak Naik is backed by 12 councillors. One of the councillors has withdrawn his support from the ruling group, bringing down the majority of the ruling council by one vote. Although the name of the councillor who has extended his support to them has not been disclosed by the opposition group, it could be Sandesh Mesta, representing ward-1.

The opposition councillors in the no confidence motion letter to the DMA alleged that the deputy chairperson Parab has failed to take the council into confidence in matters pertaining to the MMC. It was also alleged that the deputy chairperson behaves arrogantly with the general public.

“He is inefficient in his working and has been misusing the powers bestowed upon him by law giving rise to large scale corruption in the MMC”, said the no confidence motion.