Cuncolim sail into finals



MARGAO: Cuncolim Union stormed into the finals of Mc Dowell’s No 1 Yaari premier cup football tournament defeating Sporting Club of Davorlim 6-4 via the tie breaker played at Cuncolim grounds on Saturday.

The teams played a 1-1 draw during the regulation time.

Cuncolim Union went into the lead in the fifth minute of play through a flag kick, which Krishna Shirodkar utilised fully by heading to the far corner of the nets as he leaped high to connect the nice floater off the corner kick taken by Deepak Velip.

However, Cuncolim Union lost concentration later on allowing Sporting Club of Davorlim to level the score in the 23rd minute as Cliffton Barreto scored a great goal off a pass from Joel Furtado.

Both the teams were tied 1-1 at the end of the normal time.

In the tie-breaker, Cuncolim Union proved to be better shooters. Ednie Fernandes, Krishna Shiridokar, A Fernandes, Rosario Carvalho and Cliff Fernandes scored for Cuncolim side while Stanley Miranda, Agnelo Colaso and P Furtado scored for Sporting Club of Davorlim.