Bills must be debated before they are passed: LS Speaker


PANAJI: Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on Thursday said bills in Parliament should be passed after debate and discussion.

Speaking at the 5th Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Conference being held at Dona Paula, she   disapproved of bills being put to vote hastily and unruly behaviour of parliamentarians.

Mahajan said that legislators should avoid fighting in the floor of the House and refrain from creating unruly scenes because people do not want to see them behaving rowdily.

People, she said, want lawmakers to use their brain and argue logically because they elect them for that purpose. Citizens these days, she added, are inclined to question as how successfully their MPs perform in the Parliament.

Mahajan criticised the press for highlighting unseemly incidents in the Parliament and ignoring good developments.

She said that future Commonwealth conferences should have a session on ‘media orientation’ to teach appropriate behaviour.

The two-day conference taking place at Dona Paula will conclude on Friday with ‘strengthening parliamentary democracy’ as its theme. One of the issues it will take up is uninterrupted functioning of legislatures.

Mahajan said the conference will deliberate on “proper working atmosphere”, and hoped for its fruitful outcome.

Earlier, delivering the welcome address, state legislative assembly Speaker Rajendra Arlekar gave the credit for Goa’s progress to equal contribution by chief ministers of all political parties.

Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar gave a brief speech and appreciated the fact that state has been chosen as the venue for the prestigious conference.

The 5th CPA conference is being attended by leading  parliamentarians such as P J Kurien, deputy chairman, Rajya Sabha; Dr M Thambi, deputy speaker, Lok Sabha;

Dr Subhash C Kashyap, former secretary general, Lok Sabha, among others as speakers.

In attendance on day one were local MLAs, Alina Saldanha, Ramkrisnha ‘Sudin’ Dhavalikar, Mauvin Godinho and Anant V Shet, who gave the vote of thanks.