Tuesday , 22 May 2018

VVA Shines at IIMUN


Students of Vidya Vikas Academy took part in the Indian International Model United Nations held at Sunshine Worldwide School, Old Goa. Over the course students learnt how to speak and how to resolve potential crises. Researching enabled them to keep up with current affairs and changed their mind sets.
Indian International Model United Nations (IIMUN) is one of India’s leading brand in education conference management having organised Asia’s largest Youth Conference in Mumbai amongst the many other conferences. Being a conference for the youth by the youth, it is run completely by students in age group of 16 years 22 years.
It provides youth a platform to voice their opinions by forwarding their drafted resolutions to the United Nations. It is also the first IIMUN in Asia to have its own procedure. The events organised by IIMUN have been attended or supported by noted luminaries like UN secretary general, Ban-Ki-Moon; UN under-secretary general Peter Launsky; UN chief of education outreach, Nathalie Leroy; former UN under-secretary general, Shashi Tharoor; bollywood actors like Rahul Bose, Vir Das, Cyrus Broacha, Aftab Shivdasani and others.
About 150 students from twelve top institutions across the state participated and spent the weekend debating on topics from legalisation of drones to whether Sanskrit should be included in school curriculum.
Students were allotted to one of the five UN committees – the United Nations Security Council; the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation; the United Nations Children’s Fund; the Lok Sabha and the International Press where they represented different countries or representatives and discussed matters of political or cultural relevance.
Fifteen pupils from standard 9 to 12 were selected to represent Vidya Vikas Academy at this event. The delegation consisted of 15 members, all of whom excelled and spoke and performed their respective duties exceedingly well. The delegation consisted of the following:

 United Nations Security Council Members:
Trusha Ganesh: Russia
Jeremy Miranda: Chad
Shania Coutinho: Jordan
Savio Andrade: Venezuela
Piyush Waradkar: India
 Lok Sabha Members:
Doyle Vas: Suresh Prabhu
Bevan Fernandes: D.V Sadananda Gowda
Joshua Dias: Ram Vilas Paswan
 UNICEF Members:
Tarun Mascarenhas: Russia
Chantal D’Costa: Chad
Dinesh Lopes: Jordan
Chelsea Marie Joseph: Venezuela
Jonathan Periera: India
 International Press Members:
Julian D’Costa
Astrid Gracias
 At the end of it all, 5 members received awards
Chelsea Marie Joseph: Best Delegate, UNICEF
Chantal D’Costa: UNICEF
Tarun Mascarenhas: UNICEF
Trusha Ganesh: UNSC
Julian D’costa: Best Reporter, International Press
Vidya Vikas won Best Delegation. All 15 students received a direct invitation to the IIMUN Championship Conference to be held in August 2016.

Please like & share:
WP Facebook Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com