Monday , 20 May 2019
Sridevi declares Indian Panorama section open

Sridevi declares Indian Panorama section open

26 feature and 16 non-feature films lined up under the Indian Panorama section


On the second day of the 48th International Film Festival of India (IFFI), Bollywood film actress Sridevi declared the Indian Panorama section open. She said that it was an honour for her to do so. “Indian Panorama is one of the most important sections of the international festival and the jury has put in hard work to select some of the best films. The jury is quite experienced and have done a great job. It’s an honour for me to declare this interesting section open,” added Sridevi.

This year a total of 26 feature films and 16 non-feature films from across the country have been selected to be screened under the Indian Panorama section. Some of the feature films are: Bahubaali 2 – The Conclusion, Bisorjon, Idak, Kaasav, Railway Children, Redu, Ventilator, Village Rockstars, and Secret Superstar etc. The non-feature film ‘Pushkar Puran’ and feature film ‘Pihu’ were the opening films for the section.

While speaking during the inaugural, festival director of the IFFI, Sunit Tandon said that the Indian Panorama is an integral part of the festival. “The aim of the jury is to select feature and non-feature films of cinematic, thematic and aesthetic excellence. It also works towards promoting films in India and abroad. This year’s edition has some of the perfect combination of rich content and entertainment. There are films made by filmmakers who are experienced and new comers,” said Tandon.

He also elaborated on non-feature films and said they are also of equal importance as they highlight some of the social issues prevailing in our country. Some of the non-feature films to be screened under this section include Dugga, Epil, 81/2 Intercuts – life and films of KG George, Aaba, Fireflies in the Abyss, The Waterfall, etc.

Sridevi felicitated the jury of the Indian Panorama section. The feature film jury comprised of National Award-winning writer, director and screenwriter, Sujoy Ghosh; film editor and screenwriter, Apurva Asrani; filmmaker, Gopi Desai; writer and director, Gyan Correa; director, Harii Viswanath; singer and actor, Merlvin Mukhim; director and producer, Nikhil Advani; director, Nishikant Kamat; assistant director for filmmaker Raj Kapoor, Rahul Rawail; filmmaker, Ruchi Narain; film critic, Sachin Chatte; poet and social activist, Satarupa Sanyal; and director and screenplay writer, Suresh Heblikar.           The non-feature film jury comprised of film director, Sudhir Mishra; director general, Indian Institute of Mass Communication, KG Suresh; director of short films, Mithunchandra Chaudhari; researcher and documentary filmmaker, Shankhajeet D; documentary director, Shiny Jacob Benjamin; editor, Tinny Mitra; and writer and editor, Tuhinabha Majumdar.