Sporting Davorlim champs

MARGAO: Sporting Club of Davorlim emerged winners of Eslinda Alemao memorial football tournament when they registered a 4-3 victory via the tie-breaker in the finals played against Nuvem Sports Club at Rosary grounds, Navelim on Wednesday. At full time the teams were involved in a goalless draw.

Both the teams were evenly balanced and displayed fine skills of football with quick footwork, positional play and burst of speed.
Both the teams had equal scoring chances in both the sessions of play. While Sporting Club of Davorlim had two opportunities in the first half which they messed up, the Nuvem lads too wasted three good opportunities in the second session. The defence of both the teams stood tall and thwarted the strikers on either side whenever they tried to aim at the goal.
As the teams were locked in a goalless draw, the tie- breaker system was adopted to break the deadlock in which Davorlim scored accurately through Jose Colaco, Bruno Costa, Venson Figueredo and Sandy Colaco.
Nuvem lads could find the mark only through Nevis Noronha, Stanley D’Mello and Cedar Colaco.
Sporting Club of Davorlim took home Rs 40,000 as the prize money besides the winners trophy. Nuvem Sports Club had to be content with Rs 30,000.
Mr Churchill Alemao was the chief guest.The parish priest of Rosary Church of Navelim Fr Jose Roque Gonsalves was the guest of honour while Navelim Zilla Parishad member Mr Edwin Cardozo presided.
President of the Navelim Villagers Union, Mr Bishut Themudo welcomed and later proposed the vote of thanks. In all 16 teams participated in this tournament.
The following individual prizes were awarded: Best goalkeeper: Praviraj Joshi (Nuvem SC).First scorer of the finals: Nevis Noronha (Nuvem SC). Promising player: Dylon D’Costa of Navelim Villagers Union. Best defender: Piedade Colaco (Sporting Club of Davorlim). Best forward: Venson Figueredo of Sporting Club of Davorlim.Best half: Cedar Colaco of Nuvem SC. Best player of the finals: Melwyn Figueredo of Sporting Club of Davorlim and Best disciplined team: Ugem Rising Club, Sanguem.