Goa restrict Jharkhand to 360

JAMSHEDPUR: Goa bowlers, led by Saurabh Bandekar’s four-for, made a strong comeback to restrict Jharkhand to a modest total of 360 in the first innings of their Ranji Trophy Group C match at the Keenan Stadium on Sunday.

However, the visitors did not have a great start to their chase as they lost opener Amogh Desai before the close of play.

Starting the day at 222 for two, Jharkhand batsmen failed to capitalise on a good start as they lost wickets at regular intervals.

Saurabh Tiwary (35) was the first one to go, losing his wicket to a needless run out. Ishank Jaggi failed to make a significant addition to his overnight total as he fell to Bandekar on 57.

Amir Hashmi and wicketkeeper-batsman Shiv Gautam tried to resurrect the hosts’ innings, but with latter falling prey to Shadab Jakati in the 21st over of the day, things certainly did not look good for Jamshedpur.

With Hashmi following suit 35 runs later, Jamshedpur were reduced to 302 for six before Kumar Deobrat struck a well made half-century to take the hosts pass 350-run mark.

Responding to Jamshedpur’s first innings total, Goa did not have an auspicious beginning as Desai edged one to wicketkeeper Gautam off Shahbaz Nadeem.

At the draw of stumps, Swapnil Asnodkar was unbeaten at three and giving him company was Manvinder Bisla at three.

Brief score: Jamshedpur 1st inns: 360 for all out in 151.4 overs (Manish Vardhan 73, Kumar Deobrat 58; Saurabh Bandekar 76/4); Goa 1st inns: 24 for one in 14 overs (Amogh Desai 13; Shahbaaz Nadeem 7/1).

Gujarat vs Bengal in Kolkata: After Gujarat were bundled out for 260 in the first innings, hosts Bengal posted 220 for four following an unbeaten ton from Manoj Tiwary at the Eden Gardens. Earlier, the visitors lost three wickets for 30 runs to finish their innings in 85.3 overs. Ashok Dinda finished with three wickets for 73 while Sourav Sarkar (4-60) picked up his fourth on the day too. For Bengal, Manoj Tiwary’s 179-ball 102 helped the hosts get closer to the Gujarat tally after Rush Kalaria (3-58) finished with the bulk of the wickets. They trail by 40 runs at the end of the second day’s play.

Railways vs Punjab in Bhubaneshwar: After wrapping up Railways for 205 in the first innings, Punjab posted 230-5 at the close of 2nd day’s play on Sunday. Sandeep Sharma picked up four for 38 to halt Railways’ charge in 79 overs. In reply, Punjab’s Jiwanjot Singh (44) got off to a strokeful start before Krishnakant Upadhyay (2-50) dented the middle order with vital scalps. But an unbeaten 96-run knock from Uday Kaul ensured the runs came steadily. Accompanied by Amitoze Singh (55), the duo took Punjab past the 200-run mark and finished the day with a 25-run lead.

Hyderabad vs Saurashtra in Uppal: It was raining wickets in this Group A contest after Ashish Reddy (6-56) picked up a six-wicket haul to halt Saurashtra’s charge at 260 before Hyderabad were bundled out for a dismal 186. Akshath Reddy top-scored with a gritty half-century as his side failed to pile on the runs against Ravindra Jadeja’s (6-71) attack who also finished with six wickets. Syed Quadri (48 not out) contributed down the order as Hyderabad were trailing by 74 runs at stumps.

Madhya Pradesh vs Rajasthan in Jaipur: A fighting knock from Rashmi Parida (108) ensured Rajashtan were 306-6 with a 50-run lead at the end of Day Two. For MP, Ishwar Pandey (4-65) struck crucial blows to hurt the Rajasthan top-order. But Robin Bist (85) and Parida’s 85-run stand for the fourth wicket laid the foundation of a sturdy innings.

Delhi vs Baroda in New Delhi: Baroda dominated proceedings second day in a row as they posted a hefty 525 for seven riding on centuries from Abhimanyu Chauhan (113) and Ambati Rayudu (131) at the Feroz Shah Kotla on Sunday. The 213-run stand between the duo for the fourth wicket frustrated Delhi who managed regular inroads through Parvinder Awana (2-94) and Sumit Narwal (2-84). Rajat Bhatia (3-35) picked up his third scalp before Ketan Panchal (72 not out) and Gagandeep Singh (70 not out) smacked an unbeaten 126-run stand for the eighth wicket to pile on the misery for Delhi.

Haryana vs Odisha in Rohtak: After Odisha were bundled out for 219 in the first innings, Haryana notched up a 12-run lead as they were 165 for five in 68 overs at the end of the day’s play at the Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium. Lagnajit Samal (43) added vital runs to take Odisha past the 200-run mark. For Haryana, Mohit Sharma (5-49) finished with a five-wicket haul to bundle out the visitors in 74 overs. Haryana got off to a shaky start after Basant Mohanty (2-21) and Alok Mangaraj (2-47) claimed early scalps for Odisha. Abhimanyu Khod remained unbeaten with a gutsy 56-run knock as Haryana look to post a challengeable target.

Tamil Nadu vs Maharashtra in Chennai: Tamil Nadu were able to add just three runs to their overnight tally as they finished with 276 on the board before they returned to dismiss Maharashtra for 233 on Sunday. Shrikant Mundhe finished with four for 38. In reply, Maharashtra struggled to get going with Lakshmipathy Balaji (4-28) and Rangarajan (4-55) stifling the run flow with regular wickets. Kedar Jadhav (45) and Rohit Motwani (44) added crucial runs but it was Mundhe’s 61 off 116 that took the side past the 200-run mark before Maharashtra ended 42 runs short of TN’s first innings tally.

Uttar Pradesh vs Karnataka in Meerut: Uttar Pradesh are on top against Karnataka as they finished the day leading by 157 runs after the visitors were dismissed for 181 in the first innings on Sunday. UP were bowled out for 283 in the first innings with HS Sharath (5-67) and KP Appanna (3-56) finishing with the bulk of the wickets. In response, Manish Pandey (54) and Amit Verma (52) slammed half-centuries before Karnataka were bundled out for 181. Bhuvneshwar Kumar (5-36) was responsible for most of the damage inflicted with Imtiaz Ahmed (3-53) also dealing crucial blows. UP later continued on a shaky note in the second inning to lose three wickets before they finished at 55 for three
in 22 overs.