Breaking News

Rossman Cruz win Guirdolim Panchayat Cup




Rossman Cruz SC, Nagoa-Verna won the 15th All Goa Guirdolim Panchayat Cup, organised by Guirdolim Club, defeating Dicarpale SC 2-1 in the finals played at Chandor Church Ground, on Sunday.

In a fast paced match witnessed by a huge Sunday crowd, Dicarpale SC dominated the proceedings right from the word go, and could have taken the lead in the 5th minute itself but Mack Borges blasted wide from touching distance.

Rossman slowly found their footing and in the 8th minute a long range effort by Myron Fernandes was thwarted away by an alert Dicarpale SC goalkeeper Avin Vales. On a counter attack, in the 11th minute, Robinson Colaco of Dicarpale scored the first goal of the final when his placement shot evaded the diving Dicarplae keeper. Dicapale were unlucky to concede the equaliser in the 23rd minute when Mable Miranda scored an own goal while attempting to clear the ball off a corner kick. Both teams had opportunities to score but their strikers were wasteful in front of goal. At the interval Dicarpale led 1-0.

Changing over, Rossman Cruz were a transformed unit and attacked in numbers; their efforts paid off in the 39th minute when Eusebio Fernandes found the back of the net with a rasping drive from top of the box, giving no chance to the Dicarpale keeper. Thereafter, it was a story of missed chances in galore for both the teams.

In the final 10 minutes, Dicarpale went all out to equalise and had at least three clear chances to do so but were denied by Rossman Cruz keeper Preston Rebello. The match thus ended 2-1 in favour of Rossman Cruz SC.

The winners were awarded a cash prize of Rs 50,000 while the runners-up pocketed Rs 40,000.

Earlier Patwin Fizardo, president of Guirdolim Club welcomed Clafasio Dias, MLA of Cuncolim while chief guest Reginald Lourenco addressed the gathering in the presence of Darwin Cardoso and others.

The following individual prizes were awarded: Best Goalkeeper of the Finals: Preston Rego (Rossman Cruz SC), Best Defender of the Finals: Jordell Gomes (Dicarpale SC), Best Midfielder of the Finals: Hilton Fernandes (Rossman Cruz SC), Best Forward of the Finals: Robinson Colaco (Dicarpale SC), Upcoming Player of Guirdolim Club: Irfan Yadwad, Player of the Tournament: Danny Fernandes (Snows FA, Raia), Best Disciplined Team: United SC, Seraulim, Best Semifinalists: Snows FA, Raia.

Check Also

SC Davorlim down DBO Fatorda to reach semis

NT NETWORK Benaulim Sporting Club of Davorlim entered the semifinals of 30th Super Soccer defeating …