Categories: World News

Over 11,800 candidates in fray for seats in Pakistan




As many as 11,855 candidates are in the fray for 849 general seats of Pakistan’s national and provincial assemblies in the July 25 elections after the completion of scrutiny process, the election commission has said.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has issued the final list of candidates, according to which, 3,459 candidates will contest on 272 general seats of the National Assembly, while 8,396 are running for 577 general seats of the four provincial assemblies.

The National Assembly is a democratically elected body consisting of a total of 342 members, of which 272 are directly elected, 60 seats are reserved for women and 10 for religious minorities.

The figures show a significant decrease in the number of candidates compared to the 2013 general elections when a total of 15,629 candidates – 4,671 for National Assembly and 10,958 for provincial assemblies – were in the field, the Dawn reported.

Interestingly, the leadership of major political parties and other political bigwigs are contesting from more than one constituency in the upcoming elections, it said.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) president Shahbaz Sharif will contest from four constituencies of three provinces including NA-132 (Lahore), NA-192 (Dera Ghazi Khan), NA-249 (Karachi) and NA-3 (Swat), the report said.

Cricketer-turned-politican and chief of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Imran Khan has submitted his nomination from five constituencies – NA-35 (Bannu), NA-53 (Islamabad), NA-95 (Mianwali), NA-131 (Lahore) and NA-243 (Karachi).

Chairman of the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari is contesting on three seats — one each from Malakand, Lahore and native Larkana. His father, Asif Ali Zardari will contest election from NA-213 (Shaheed Benazirabad).

Maulana Fazlur Rahman, chief of the Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam, is contesting from NA-38 and NA-39 seats from Dera Ismail Khan, the report said.

Former interior minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan will contest NA-59 and NA-63 seats from Rawalpindi. Jamaat-i-Islami chief Sirajul Haq, who is a sitting senator, will contest NA-7 seat (Lower Dir) and NA-23 (Charsadda). The Awami National Party chief Asfandyar Wali Khan is in the run for NA-24 (Charsadda).

Former premier Yusuf Raza Gilani will contest NA-158 (Multan) seat, while his sons Ali Moosa Gilani and Ali Qadir Gilani are in the fray for NA-157 and NA-154 seats. Chief of the Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party Mehmood Khan Achakzai is contesting on NA-263 seat, the Dawn reported.

This time, a total of 3,459 candidates – 1,623 from Punjab, 824 from Sindh, 725 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and 287 from Balochistan – are in the run for the 272 general seats of the National Assembly.

According to the ECP data, for general seats of provincial assemblies shows that a total of 4,036 candidates will fight for 297 general seats of the Punjab Assembly; 2,252 candidates will contest 130 general seats of the Sindh Assembly; 1,165 will compete for 99 KP Assembly seats and 943 will vie for 51 general seats of the Balochistan Assembly.



Comments are closed.

Recent Posts

  • Goa News

State rolls up its sleeves for gruelling vote count

Panaji/Margao: Vote counting on May 23 will be a gruelling task, which could spill into  the next day delaying the…

12 hours ago
  • Goa News

Foolproof security for vote count

Panaji: Security has been beefed up at the strongrooms (where EVMs are stored) and  counting centres in Panaji and Margao,…

12 hours ago
  • Goa News

What a feat! 92.47% students clear SSC exam

Panaji: The  SSC  examination conducted by the Goa Board of Secondary and Higher Secondary Education  recorded the  highest pass percentage…

12 hours ago
  • Goa News

JERC not on the same page with govt on power tariff

Panaji: The government’s decision to avoid hiking electricity tariffs in the face of increasing demand for power in the state…

12 hours ago
  • Goa News

Pauskar assures regular water supply

Panaji: Public Works Minister Deepak Prabhu Pauskar on Tuesday  directed the all executive engineers of the PWD to ensure that…

12 hours ago
  • Goa News

Shrinivas has admirable role at US varsity

Well-known Goan industrialist and philanthropist SHRINIVAS DEMPO, who is a 1995 MBA graduate of the Tepper School of Business from…

12 hours ago