Breaking News

Meet the jurors

The IFFI 2018 jury consists of prominent filmmakers who have been a part of several film festivals and other film related events. NT BUZZ brings you the details

Robert Glinski

Jury chairman

Glinski is a film director, screenwriter and a professor at the National Film School in Lodz (Poland). He studied architecture at Warsaw University of Technology, and directing at the National Film School, where he was later a rector in years 2008-2012. He has directed 14 theatrical films and over 20 teleplays for National TV, and has worked at theatres in Warsaw, Poznan, Rzeszow and Gdynia (Poland). His most famous films include ‘Sunday Pranks’, ‘All That Really Matters’ and ‘Hi, Tereska’.

Adrian Sitaru

Filmmaker, Romania

Adrian Sitaru is a Romanian born filmmaker. He won the Pardino d’oro for Best International Short Film at the Festival del film Locarno for ‘Waves’ (2007). His first feature ‘Hooked’ (2008) was selected for the Venice and Toronto festivals and won awards at Palm Springs, Thessalonica, Mons, Buenos Aires and Estoril. In 2009, he made two new short films, ‘Lord’ (2009) and ‘The Cage’ (2010). Adrian Sitaru has also made several TV films for Hungarian television. His second feature ‘Din Dragoste Cu Cele Mai Bune Intentii’ won best directing and best actor awards at Locarno International Film Festival. In 2016 he won the CICAE award at the Berlinale Forum for his feature ‘Illegitimate’.

Anna Ferraioli Ravel

Actress, Italy

Anna Ferraioli Ravel is an Italian actress and producer. Born in the Amalfi Coast, she studied drama at the National School of Cinema of Rome (Centra Sperimentale di cinematografia). She works in cinema (she has appeared in many Italian movies directed by C Verdone, K Rossi Smart, F Risuleo, A Genovese, R Rossi, P Reggiani, A Tamburini and C Alema), short movies (she is the recipient of several accolades), theatre and TV. In 2016, she founded her production company, Abuelita and produced the documentaries ‘Avanti’ by Lucia Senesi and ‘Hoy Cuba’ by Giorgio Palmera.

Tom Fitzpatrick

Actor,  USA

Tom Fitzpatrick has been active on stages for 54 years. He’s appeared at The Mark Taper Forum, understudying Kelsey Grammer as Richard II, The La Jolla Playhouse, The Pasadena Playhouse, The New Mexico Rep, Baltimore’s Center Stage, Boston’s Charles Playhouse, The Provincetown Playhouse among others. He is proudest of the ten years he spent, from 1985 to 1995, as a member of Dar A Luz, the acting company formed by the late Avant-Garde wunderkind, Reza Abdoh. Under Reza’s direction, Tom created roles in 10 of Abdoh’s ground-breaking spectacles, starting first at downtown’s Los Angeles Theatre Center, then Off-off Broadway in New York and finally on several European tours, where the company garnered critical acclaim and played to sell-out houses everywhere they performed. 

Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra

Filmmaker, India

Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra is an Indian filmmaker and screenwriter. He is best known for writing and directing ‘Rang De Basanti’ (2006) and ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’ (2013). He is the writer and director of the films ‘Aks’ (2001) and ‘Delhi-6’ (2009). In 2011, Rakeysh’s documentary film ‘Bollywood: the Greatest Love Story’ (which was co-directed by Jeffery Zimbalist) was an official selection at the Cannes, 2011 to celebrate 100 years of Indian Cinema. The work is a docu-feature, avant-garde take on how Indian cinema has reflected the changing socio-political landscape since India got independence from the British Raj.


Check Also

Parenting in the pandemic

Parents of young children share with NT BUZZ  how they have explained the coronavirus crisis …