Wednesday , 16 October 2019
Breaking News

MCC Alcon crowned Goa Premier League champs

Porvorim: MCC Alcon edged Dempo in the Goa Premier League final to be crowned champions for this season. Dempo fell short by 17 runs as Alcon’s Rituraj Singh and Nihal Surlakar took three wickets each and contained the batsmen to 190, at GCA Ground Porvorim on Sunday.

Dempo won the toss and put MCC Alcon to bat. Openers Aditya Kaushik and Tunish Sawkar made sure the team got to a fine start and put together a 104 run stand. Kaushik was unable to complete his half century and was dismissed for 48 runs by Srinivas Fadte. Sawkar’s stint too came to an end and it was Fadte’s delivery once again; the opener was walking back after scoring 64 runs.

After the openers’ departure, the middle order buckled and failed to forge a strong partnership. Captain Swapnil Asnodkar’s stay was short lived and was back in the pavillion for just 15 runs.

Sunny Patel and Keenan Vaz’s partnership took a dent after Patel was caught by Lalit Yadav off a delivery by Vinay Chaudhary for just 13 runs. Once Patel departed the rest fell like nine-pins and tail-enders struggled to put up a score of 207/9.  Dempo bowlers were impressive as Subodh Bhati, Lalit Yadav, Vinay Chaudhary and Srinivas Fadte took two wickets each for the team.

Dempo batters looked to give a promising start as they began their chase to 207. But after playing a cautious inning of 25 runs, Prathamesh Gawas was sent back after he was stumped by wicketkeeper Samar Dubashi. Opener Karan Vashodia too departed soon for just 33 runs falling prey to Sunny Patel whose quick thinking got him run out.

Dempo captain Sagun Kamat was restricted to a cameo of 4 runs and was back in the pavillion. In at no.4, Lalit Yadav and Suyash Prabhudessai held the fort and steadied their way to target. It was Rituraj Singh’s fine bowling that ended Prabhudessai’s stay at the crease. He was playing second fiddle to Yadav and managed to score only 20 runs.

But Yadav too was dismissed without adding anything to score board since Prabhudessai’s departure. His contribution of 40 runs saw four boundaries and a six. Thereon, Alcon bowlers made sure they did not lose their grip over the match and bowled tight to deny Dempo bowlers to score any boundaries.

Apart from Rituraj Singh and Nihal Surlakar 3 wicket scalps, Sunny Patel and Vedant Naik took one wicket each for Alcon. Dempo’s innings folded for 190 in 38.4 overs falling short by 17 runs.

Check Also

Dicarpale register tight win over Rumdamol

Mandopa: Dicarpale Sports Club scripted a narrow 2-1 win over Rumdamol Sports Club in the …