Monday , 25 March 2019

Maharashtra Maul Madhya Pradesh


A bace of goals by Shrikant Veeramallu, Mervin Stephen and Mohd Shahabaz Pathan helped youthful Maharashtra register a huge 8-0 win against Madhya Pradesh in the West Zone Santhosh Trophy National Football tournament qualifying round match played at Tilak maidan,Vasco on Saturday.
Mahatrashtra were leading 2-0 at half time through goals scored by Raynier Fernandes(6th minute) and Mervin Stephen(39th minute). Thereafter in the second session, as Mahatrashtra completely dominated the proceedings, they added six more goals to completely demolish MP with a whopping 8-0 victory, though they could have added atleast three more, had they not missed sure chances. The game kicked with controversy in the very tenth minute. MP were first to take offence when referee Vijay RC awarded a penalty to Mahrashtra for a foul created by a MP defenders insdie their box. Raynier who stepped up for the kick failed to convert.
Madhaya Pradesh came up with some break away moves, but the strong Mahatrashtra defence marshalled by Vatbhau Karpe, Dion Menezes,Mohammad Shafique and Wayne Vaz quelled whatever moves that were created without much difficulty.
The second session saw Maharashtra taking over with total mastery over the proceedings and with meticulous moves they wove, went on scoring at regular intervals.
Madhaya Pradesh were no where in the picture and were seen struggling all the while, defending their citadel.
Shrikant Veeramallu stole the lime light as he scored beautiful goals and contributed largely in assisting his collegues upfront to find the mark.

Please like & share: