Wednesday , 16 October 2019
Breaking News


Holy Spirit win south district U-17 inter-school title

UTORDA: Holy Spirit Institute of Margao thrashed Miracle High School of Sanguem by a huge margin of 5-0 to emerge as champs of the South District U-17 boys Subroto Mukherjee inter-school football tournament organised by Directorate of Sports & Youth Affairs played at Utorda Sports Complex ground on Saturday. Holy Spirit School was leading by a goal scored by Saideep Pomburphekar. Tahir Shaikh scored a brace while Harsh and Mevan scored a goal each in the second session for Holy Spirit Institute.

Navelim knockout Chandor to enter semis

Chandor: Navelim SC registered a 2-1 against Chandor Club to enter the quarterfinals of 45th Chandor Seamen Trophy football tournament played at Chandor grounds on Saturday. Chandor went into the lead through Flazer Gomes in the 25th minute but then Navelim SC retaliated quickly within the next miute of play to level the score through Jaison Martins. Three minutes later, Jaison shot in the match winner in the 27th minute.

Goan Warriors send Arambol packing

CHAPORA: Goan Warriors moved into the quarters of the W Hotels Soccer Cup 2018, organised by Chapora YS, with a fluent 3-0 win over ABC Arambol played at Chapora grounds on Saturday. In the 9th minute Gaursih Bugde gave final touches to Milind Shinde’s cross, 1-0. Three minutes later Chetan Shirodkar doubled the lead for Goan Warriors with a superb solo effort, 2-0. On resumption of play Rajesh Salgaonkar made it 3-0 with a neat placement.

UC Fatorda Veterans pip Navelim

BENAULIM: United Club Fatorda Veterans edged past Navelim Veterans 1-0 to enter the semi-finals of the 18th VM Salgaocar Memorial Veterans Soccer Tournament organised by Prime Sports Club, played at St John the Baptist Ground, Benaulim. The winning goal came in the 9th minute through Vincent Barbosa.

Tejan, Prateek in Rasik Memorial final

PANAJI: In the ongoing 5th Late Rasik Painguinkar Memorial All Goa Major Ranking Badminton Tournament, Tejan Fallary outplayed Sushil Nayak 25-23, 21-15 and Prateek Mahajan beat Karan Dhavaskar 21-4, 19-21, 21-17 to book their place in the final, played multipurpose hall, Fatorda. The women’s finals will witness a clash between Yasmin Sayed and Emilia Silveira.


Check Also

Dicarpale register tight win over Rumdamol

Mandopa: Dicarpale Sports Club scripted a narrow 2-1 win over Rumdamol Sports Club in the …