NDA to move resolution on FDI, to press for vote

NEW DELHI: The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) on Tuesday decided to bring a motion that entails voting against the decision on Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) in retail but kept open its options on a no-confidence motion in an apparent bid to not antagonise the Trinamool Congress.

"NDA will move a resolution under voting provisions seeking disapproval of the government’s decision (to permit FDI in multi-brand retail) and urging the government to withdraw the decision," said a statement of the BJP-led opposition grouping after a 90-minute meeting.

The NDA, which met under the chairmanship of Mr L K Advani to finalise its strategy in the winter session of Parliament beginning Thursday, appealed to all the political parties which extended support to the nationwide bandh against the government’s FDI decision of December 7, 2011, to support the motion.

Against the backdrop of former Congress ally, TMC’s plans, the NDA decided to consult all political parties to bring a no-confidence motion in Lok Sabha against the government. "This government has failed on all the fronts and the time has come for it to go. The NDA would consult all political parties to explore the possibility of a no-confidence motion against the government," the statement read out by BJP chief spokesperson, Mr Ravi Shankar Prasad, said.

The NDA said the government has violated its "solemn assurance" given in Parliament on December 7, 2011, that it will keep in abeyance the decision on FDI till a consensus is arrived at in consultation with all political parties and states. "The NDA appeals to all political parties which supported the Bharat bandh against the decision to bring FDI in retail to cooperate in this disapproval of the decision," it said.

The meeting was attended by senior BJP leaders, Ms Sushma Swaraj and Mr Arun Jaitley, BJP president, Mr Nitin Gadkari; NDA convenor, Sharad Yadav; Akali Dal leader, Mr Naresh Gujral; Shiv Sena leader, Mr Ananth Geete; JD(U) leader, Mr Shivanand Tiwari and Haryana Janhit Party leader, Mr Kuldeep Bishnoi.