By-elections: Congress shortlists candidates for 3 constituencies



The Pradesh Election Committee (PEC) of the Congress party, on Saturday evening, shortlisted the names of the probable candidates for the by-polls to three constituencies of Mandrem, Panaji and Shiroda, and the same has been sent to the party high command in New Delhi for further deliberation and consideration.

Goa Pradesh Congress Committee president Girish Chodankar interacting with the media persons after the PEC meeting said that for Mandrem constituency names of former Union minister Ramakant Khalap; Sachin Parab, son of former education minister Sangita Parab; senior local leader Babi Bagkar and Vaishali Shetgaonkar have been shortlisted.

For the Panaji assembly seat, names of party’s Panaji block president Prasad Amonkar, and former mayors of the Corporation of the City of Panaji Surendra Furtado and Yatin Parekh have been shortlisted.

For Shiroda constituency, names of former industries minister Mahadev Naik, Tukaram Borker, Nilesh Gaonkar,  Sushant Gaonkar, and Diya Shetkar are in the list.

The names of the probable candidates for the Mapusa Assembly seat is yet to be shortlisted by the party.

“The final decision on the candidates for the by-polls is expected to be out within the next two days,” said Chodankar, adding that the names of the candidates for both the Lok Sabha seats will be announced by Sunday evening.

Categories: Goa News
nt :