Friday , 26 April 2019

BITS Pilani Goa holds Convocation 2018

BITS Pilani, KK Birla Goa Campus held its convocation in the presence of vice chancellor of BITS Pilani, professor Souvik Bhattacharyya; director of BITS Pilani, Goa Campus, professor G Raghurama; acting registrar of BITS Pilani, professor S C Sivasubramanian; members of the senate and faculty members of Goa campus along with the graduating students and their families.

This year 810 students received degrees, of which 30 were PhDs. Three students from the bachelor’s degree programmes were awarded medals – gold medal to Amit Agarwal, silver medal to Karen Aditi Quadros and bronze medal to Advait Prasad Koparkar.

The distinguished alumnus award for 2018 was received by professor Reena Aggarwal (vice-provost, George Town University), professor PrabhuL Pingali (founding director, Tata Cornell Institute), professor Arun Somani (associate dean, Iowa State University), Ajoyendra Mukherjee (executive vice president, TCS), Prasanna Gopalakrishnan (chief information officer, Bank of America), Anand Rao (Global Innovation lead, Princewater House Coopers), Anupendra Sharma (Global VP, Siemens)and Tushar Jain (director, Automat Irrigation Limited).

Speaking at the event Bhattacharyya presented an overview of the university’s accomplishments and highlighted its role in fostering innovation and entrepreneurship in higher education. He concluded by stressing upon the need for students to be humane and contribute to the betterment of society with the knowledge and skills that they have gained at BITS.

Raghurama read out a detailed report of BITS Pilani, Goa Campus offering an overview of the advances in research, new initiatives and collaborations of the Institute.

Please like & share: