Breaking News

Benaulim go past Margao; Raitura, Maina win




United Club of Benaulim defeated Margao SC 3-1 in the GFA’s Third Division League match played at Dando ground, Benaulim, on Friday.

Margao SC made the first shy at the goal as Nelson Vaz made a run through the flanks and cut inside the D-area, passing the ball to Savio Noronha who had a clear shot at the ball however Savio shot over the bar.

The Benaulim side struggled upfront and had lesser chances at the goal compared to the rivals but defended their citadel well enough to keep the scoreline 0-0 before halftime.

Post resumption, the Benaulim side came back stronger and scored three goals in quick succession through Manfred Fernandes, Kegan Rodrigues and Stanley Fernandes.

The Margao side tried hard but were able to pull only one goal back in the 75th minute through Floriano Vaz.

At Raia ground: Raitura SC registered a 2-0 win over Arlem Youth Association. Wilem Rebello opened the scoring for Raitura in the 35th minute while Pratik Rewal netted in the 75th minute to give his team full points.

At Curtorim ground: Maina SC edged past Chandor Club 4-3. Welson Fernandes opened the scoring for Maina SC in the 9th minute the joy didn’t last long as Chandor made it 1-1 in the 14th minute through Marjo Fernandes.

It took a while until Welson scored yet another goal in the 33rd minute to keep their one-goal lead but the Chandor side came from behind once again to level terms in the 37th minute through Stalen Fernandes. The scores were tied 2-2 at half-time.

After the breather Maina SC scored two quick goals through Joy Hilario and Nalister Silveira.

The Chandor side narrowed the margin through Richard D’sa but were unable to find the equaliser as the match ended 4-3 in favour of Maina SC.

At Chapora ground: Football Club Siolim and ABC sports Club Arambol played out a 1-1 draw. There was no score in the first half.  In the second half, Kashinath Pomburpekar found the breakthrough in the 69th minute for FC Siolim however Gladston Fernandes scored a 86th minute equaliser for the Arambol side.

At Parra ground: Saligao United Club held Nerul Sports Club to a 1-1 draw. Amish More scored for Nerul SC while Trevor Dias netted a late equaliser.

At Tembi ground, Anjuna: Milagres SC scored seven goals past FC Sanquelim in a one-sided affair. Sarpem Diukar netted a hat-trick while Sparesh Gaonkar, Leon D’Souza, Lester Martins and Schubert Colaco scored a goal each for the winners.

At Nachinola ground: St Domnic Savio SC and YSC Colvale played out a 1-1 draw. Vishnu Pawar scored for Colvale while Shiva Gosawi netted the equaliser in the 43rd minute for St Domnic Savio SC.


Check Also

SC Davorlim down DBO Fatorda to reach semis

NT NETWORK Benaulim Sporting Club of Davorlim entered the semifinals of 30th Super Soccer defeating …